Creating a modern and robust democracy for all Nebraskans

Nebraskans for Civic Reform (NCR) works to create a more modern and robust democracy for all Nebraskans.

We are a group of dedicated and politically diverse young Nebraskans who are committed to strengthening our democracy through youth civic leadership programs, civic health initiatives, and ensuring our elections are non-partisan, accessible, and modern.

NCR Staff and Board of Directors

NCR achieves this by engaging our youth in our community and building leadership skills through service learning and student driven experiential learning. Our civic health programs strengthens social connectedness, confidence in institutions, community engagement and political involvement in communities across the state in a data based approach created by the first ever Nebraska Civic Health Index and through the Civic Health Partnership, all managed by NCR. Finally, once people are engaged in their democracy, we protect voting rights through non-partisan litigation, advocacy, election observation, research, and policy work.

We believe that by engaging and connecting Nebraskans and improving political participation in general, that we will enrich the civic culture of the state, revitalize an interest in community and increasingly retain a talented and motivated population.

To accomplish this our three primary program areas are:

      1. K-12 civic engagement and service learning programs in urban and rural schools.
      2. Civic health initiatives across the state in both rural and urban communities.
      3. Non-partisan voting rights protection and Nebraska accessible elections policy and research

History: Nebraskans for Civic Reform was founded in 2008 by our executive director, Adam Morfeld while an undergraduate at the University of Nebraska Lincoln along with a group of politically diverse undergraduates and law students. Since then we have moved out of Adam’s dorm (thankfully) and grown to a staff of 60 full- and part-time staff based in Lincoln and Omaha.

Members of the Board of Directors

David Solheim, J.D., County Attorney, Hancock County – Chairman
Matt Schaefer, J.D., Attorney & Lobbyist, Mueller Robak – Secretary
Cliff McEvoy, Executive Director, Buford Foundation – Treasurer
Linsey Camplin, J.D., Attorney, McHenry Haszard
Laine Norton, University of Nebraska Foundation
Omaid Zabih, J.D., Staff Attorney, Nebraska Appleseed
Tyre McDowell Jr., Assistant Dean of Students, Nebraska Wesleyan University
Eric Gerrard, Attorney/Lobbyist, Eric Gerrard LLC – Ex Officio – Chair of the Board of Advisors

Members of the Board of Advisors

Eric Gerrard, Attorney/Lobbyist, Eric Gerrard LLC – Chair of the Board of Advisors
Milo Mumgaard, Executive Director, Legal Aid of Nebraska
Becky Gould, Executive Director, Nebraska Appleseed
Drew Davies, Owner, Oxide Design
Judge (Ret.) Jan Gradwohl
Eric Berger, Associate Professor of Law, University of Nebraska College of Law
Mike Battershell, South Omaha Neighborhood Alliance
Dr. Patrick Jones, Associate Professor of History and Ethnic Studies
Nicki Behmer, Heartland Strategies
Katy Anderson, Associate Attorney, Chaloupka, Holyoke, Snyder, Chaloupka & Longoria, PC, LLO
Sue Quambusch, Community Volunteer
Charlyne Berens, Retired Professor & Community Volunteer
Scott Eastman, Associate Professor, Creighton University
Charles Coley, Metro Area Continuum of Care for the Homeless

Nebraskans for Civic Reform is a tax exempt 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.


NCR is a proud member agency of the Community Services Fund of Nebraska. Click here to find out more and make a donation.